the full draw of the dams

Decision Day for AS Monaco, this Tuesday. While they will face PSV Eindhoven for a place in the play-offs for the Champions League 2022/2023, the Monegasques will already know their future opponent in the event of qualification, this afternoon, on the occasion of a draw which will take place at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland. Last season, the Monegasques eliminated Sparta Prague in the third preliminary round, before coming up against Ukrainian team Shakhtar Donetsk.

What’s next after this ad

This year, the road to the C1 will be just as complicated for Philippe Clément’s men, via the League Way. Due to a UEFA coefficient which does not work in its favor, ASM will not be seeded. The Monegasques, whose index is 26,000 points, therefore had four potential opponents for these play-offs: the Portuguese from Benfica or the Danes from Midtjylland, the Glasgow Rangers (Scotland) or the Belgian surprise from Union Saint-Gilloise. There were therefore two draws for these play-offs: one for the Champions Path teams, the other for the League Path teams.

AS Monaco avoid Benfica

Non-seeded, AS Monaco could not fall on Dynamo kyiv and the Austrian club Sturm Graz. However, the Monegasques avoid the worst since they had to avoid Benfica Lisbon, who still have to get rid of the Danes of FC Midtjylland, during the 3rd preliminary round. It will therefore be either the Union Saint-Gilloise, exceptionally qualified in the Champions League only a year after its rise in the Belgian first division or the Glasgow Rangers (Scotland), finalists of the last Europa League.

Note that the matches will take place in the round-trip format on August 16/17 and 23/24, with the possibility of playing extra time and a penalty shootout after the return match. The winners will qualify for the UEFA Champions League group stage and join the 26 teams that qualify directly. All losing teams will be reversed in the UEFA Europa League group stage (draw on 26 August).

The full draw:

Way of Champions

  • Qarabağ FK (AZE) / Ferencváros TC (HUN) – FC Sheriff Tiraspol (MDA) / FC Viktoria Pilsen (CZE)
  • FK Bodø/Glimt (NOR) / FK Žalgiris Vilnius (LTU) – PFC Ludogorets 1945 (BUL) / GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)
  • Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR) / Apollon Limassol FC (CYP) – Red Star Belgrade (SRB) / FC Pyunik (ARM)
  • Copenhagen (DEN) – Trabzonspor AS (TUR)

League Way

  • FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR) / SK Sturm Graz (AUT) – SL Benfica (POR) / FC Midtjylland (DEN)
  • Union Saint-Gilloise (BEL) / Rangers FC (SCO) – AS Monaco FC (FRA) / PSV Eindhoven (NED)

Leave a Comment