The regret of the boss of the referees

Paul Rouget, Media365: published on Tuesday, September 20, 2022 at 09:01

After an 8th day marked by new arbitration controversies, Pascal Garibian, the boss of French referees, admitted an error during Reims-Monaco.

The referees again caused a lot of talk about them this weekend on the lawns of Ligue 1. A championship still far ahead of its neighbors, not with regard to European results but expulsions. Because with 34 red cards since the start of the season, the French elite largely dominates the continent in this area. And two of the expulsions of this 8th day of Ligue 1 are particularly controversial. Enough for the boss of arbitration to step up. Guest of The L’Équipe channel, Pascal Garibian admitted an error during Reims-Monaco (0-3). A match where the Rémois Bradley Locko was excluded by the referee, Marc Bollengier (photo), for involuntarily stepping on the foot of Breel Embolo.

An expulsion “too harsh”

This had angered the Champagne coach, for whom the official “killed the match”. “It’s not the first time, we have been penalized several times. In my opinion they charge us something, I don’t know what. I’m sorry for the players, because the referee messed with his profession and the work of my players. We can’t do anything, they have all the power”, lamented Oscar Garcia after the meeting. “Mr. Locko releasing a ball and ending his gesture in the calf of the Monegasque player, for us, the exclusion is too severe. We prefer that this red card is not shown“, admitted Garibian.

The French arbitration DTN on the other hand validated the expulsion of Jean-Clair Todibo, sent back to the locker room after a handful of seconds by Bastien Depechy during Nice-Angers (0-1) following a foul on Abdallah Sima. “Mr Todibo was sent off for obliterating goal-scoring action. Technically, for us, there is nothing wrong with this decision, believes Garibian. Arbitration begins at kick-off. From the moment when, at the time of the fault, the referee considers that the faulty player had annihilated a goal-scoring opportunity, the only disciplinary sanction he can take is to exclude the faulty player, to react that M . Sima had made the difference and opened the way to the goal.”

Leave a Comment